Governor Newsom has announced a state of emergency for counties in Southern California in response to the storm

On Sunday, Governor Gavin Newsom’s office declared a state of emergency for several Southern California counties in anticipation of a potent storm set to bring continuous rainfall until Monday.

The affected counties include Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Ventura.

Governor Newsom emphasized the gravity of the situation, stating, “This is a significant storm with potentially life-threatening consequences. It’s crucial to heed any emergency directives or alerts issued by local authorities.” He reassured that California is well-prepared, boasting a record number of emergency resources deployed to tackle the storm’s impacts.

The declaration empowers the California National Guard to intervene if necessary and facilitates the involvement of out-of-state contractors and utilities in storm damage repairs.

The storm, fueled by an atmospheric river from the Pacific Ocean, is expected to bring substantial moisture into Southern California, with steady rainfall anticipated overnight and into Monday.

Flood watches and warnings are in place for certain areas, with communities near areas prone to flooding, slides, and previous burn scars being issued evacuation warnings and orders.

Leave comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.